Bookmark This PageIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font SizeRevert to Default Font Size

Lakehead's 2010 Convocation Honours Medal Winners and Honorary Degree Recipients

(May 27, 2010 – Thunder Bay, ON) This year's Convocation marks a number of milestones for Lakehead University and its graduands  - in Thunder Bay and Orillia.

Students from the Thunder Bay Campus will gather at the Community Auditorium for three Convocation ceremonies from May 28 – 29.  One ceremony takes place on the afternoon of May 28, at which time Arthur V. Mauro will be installed as the new Chancellor.  Two ceremonies also take place the following day.  Students from the Orillia Campus will gather at the Patrick Fogarty Catholic Secondary School for their Convocation ceremony on Saturday, June 5, 2010.

"Convocation is full of proud moments for students, and for their families, their friends, and all of the faculty members and support staff who have guided them through their Lakehead journey," says Dr. Laurie Hayes, Lakehead University’s Vice-President (Academic & Provost).  “Lakehead prides itself on helping students develop their ability to think critically and independently so they are well prepared in their transition from this institution to their post-education endeavours.  Our branding campaign this year profiled several successful alumni, and we’re looking forward to seeing members of this class achieve just as much success.

University Registrar Brenda Winter notes that approximately 2,500 degrees in total will be conferred this year, including – for the first time – PhDs in Forest Sciences.  As is customary, numerous medals and awards will also be presented, including the Poulin Award for Outstanding Citizenship.  

Four honorary degrees will be conferred this year. In Thunder Bay on Friday, a Doctor of Letters will be presented to Tomson Highway, the award-winning Cree novelist, children’s author, and playwright. The next morning, a Doctor of Laws will be presented to Tony Belcourt, a leader in Canada’s Métis community. In the afternoon, a Doctor of Science will be presented Dr. Temple Grandin, a Professor of Animal Sciences and a spokesperson and advocate for persons living with autism.  A week later in Orillia, a Doctorate of Laws will be conferred on The Honourable David C. Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario.

Other people being honoured this year include Lyn McLeod, Lakehead University graduate and former leader of the Liberal Party of Ontario, who will be made a Fellow of Lakehead University on Saturday, May 29, and Ron Stevens, Mayor of the City of Orillia, who will be presented with the 2010 Lakehead University Orillia Campus Civitas Award on Saturday, June 5.

As well, four outstanding alumni will be honoured in Thunder Bay: Dr. Michel S. Beaulieu and Anthony LeBlanc will receive Young Alumni Awards, and James W. Sanders and Larry Hebert will receive Alumni Honour Awards. All Alumni awardees were honoured at the annual Alumni Relations’ Annual Alumni Awards dinner on the evening of May 26, 2010.

Graduates and their family and friends in Thunder Bay are invited to attend the Chancellor’s Reception in the Main Dining Hall from 12 noon to 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, May 29. Likewise, those in Orillia are invited to the Chancellor’s Reception at the Patrick Fogarty Catholic Secondary School from 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. on Saturday, June 5.


Media: A full list of medal winners is available upon request.  Dr. Hayes is available for media interview from 1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m. today.  For more information or to arrange interview times with Dr. Hayes, please contact Heather Scott, Communications Officer, 807-343-8177, or

About Lakehead

Lakehead is a comprehensive university with a reputation for innovative programs and cutting-edge research. With a main campus located in Thunder Bay, Ontario and a campus in Orillia, Ontario, Lakehead has over 7,700 students and 2,250 faculty and staff, and is home to the west campus of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine. In 2006, Research Infosource Inc. named Lakehead University Canada's Research University of the Year in the undergraduate category. For more information on Lakehead University, visit

Last updated May 31, 2010

News RSS Feed Stay Informed - Subscribe to our RSS Feed