Bookmark This PageIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font SizeRevert to Default Font Size

Lakehead Announces New Board Members

(October 1, 2010 – Thunder Bay, Ontario) Lakehead University is pleased to announce the new members of its Board of Governors, as elected at the Annual Meeting on October 1. Joining the Board as new members are: Erin Carter, Ken Chase, Sharon Stone, Katie Spurvey, Mark Tilbury, Murray Walberg, and Eric Zakrewski, Nancy Bouchard, and David Tamblyn.  Colin Bruce will serve as the new Chair, Cameron Clark as the new Vice-Chair, and Kevin Cleghorn as the Past Chair.

All new members are thrilled with the opportunity to join the Board and are eager to serve the University in their new roles, as are Mr. Bruce and Mr. Clarke.
The Board of Governors meets six times throughout the year.  Its membership comprises representatives from the University community including students, faculty, staff, alumni, and the Aboriginal Management Council; the City of Thunder Bay; Lieutenant Governor and Council appointments; and members who are elected at large.
Board members have strong ties to Lakehead, as well as the city and the region.  They are dedicated to offering their perspectives on a number of important issues, which ultimately provide valuable and continued support toward excellence in education at the University. 

Dr. Brian Stevenson, President, Lakehead University, says “As I look forward to what will be a year full of challenges and opportunities, I am extremely grateful to be able to rely on the wisdom, energy, and commitment these Board members provide. Lakehead University both inspires, and is nurtured by, the loyalty they personify."


MEDIA:  New members are also available for interview today following the 1:00 p.m. Annual Meeting that takes place in Lakehead’s Senate Chambers.  Patti Merriman, Secretary of the Board of Governors, can be contacted should you require interviews with Board members following today’s announcement.  Patti can be reached at 807-343-8614 or

About Lakehead
Lakehead is a comprehensive university with a reputation for innovative programs and cutting-edge research. With a main campus located in Thunder Bay, Ontario and a campus in Orillia, Ontario, Lakehead has over 7,700 students and 2,250 faculty and staff, and is home to the west campus of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine. In 2006, Research Infosource Inc. named Lakehead University Canada's Research University of the Year in the undergraduate category. For more information on Lakehead University, visit

Last updated October 01, 2010

News RSS Feed Stay Informed - Subscribe to our RSS Feed