Bookmark This PageIncrease Font SizeDecrease Font SizeRevert to Default Font Size

Lakehead Researchers 
Awarded SSHRC Grants

(October 4, 2010 – Thunder Bay, ON) Today, Lakehead University announced and highlighted a number of Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) grants awarded to its researchers over the past year.  These grants, comprising Standard Research Grants, Research Development Initiative Grants, and Aid to Workshops and Conferences in Canada, and Major Collaborative Research Initiative grants total $701,791.  The grants are shared by various Lakehead faculty members and graduate students including:


Standard Research Grants

  • Dr. Lori Chambers (Women’s Studies): $54,500
History of Illegitimacy in Ontario
  • Dr. Todd Dufresne (Philosophy): $29,215

    The Late Sigmund Freud: The Death Drive at Work, 1920-1939
  • Dr. Patricia Jasen (History): $33,510
Mental Health and the Student Experience in English-Canadian Universities, 1945-1995
  • Dr. Lisa Korteweg (Education): $117,710
Points of Viewing into Culturally Responsive non-Aboriginal Teacher Education
  • Dr. Jane Nicholas (History): $57,602

    Freaks: The Display of the Spectacular Body in English Canada, 1900-1960

Research Development Initiatives

  • Dr. Harvey Lemelin (ORPT): $36,754
Photovoice and Photo-History: Visualizing Climate Change from the Mocreebec Perspective

Aid to Workshops and Conferences in Canada

  • Dr. Ron Harpelle (History): $20,000
    FinnForum IX - An International Conference

Major Collaborative Research Initiative (Letter of Intent)

  • Dr. Chris Southcott (Sociology): $20,000

    Resources and Sustainable Development in the Arctic (ReSDA)


Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Doctoral Level)

  • Jennifer Newby (Psychology)

Joseph-Armand Bombardier CGS Master's Scholarships

  • Sandrine Badio (Sociology and Women's Studies)
  • Heather Cameron (Sociology and Women's Studies)
  • Julie Follis (History and Women's Studies)
  • David George (History)
  • Adrianne Johnston (Outdoor Recreation, Parks, and Tourism)
  • Andrew Lints (Archaeology)
  • Vanessa Lucky (Sociology and Women's Studies)
  • Mark Stewart (Centre for Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Research)
  • Rhonda Stock (Social Work)
  • Meggan Welch (Education)
  • Justin Gates (Psychology)
  • Caroline Cox (English and Women's Studies)

  • Sarah Arthurs (Psychology)


Jane Newby SSHRC ward recipient
Jennifer Newby, PhD student in Clinical Psychology and SSHRC award recipient
As noted by Dr. Brian Stevenson, President, Lakehead University, “This is indeed exciting news. I am regularly amazed by the passion with which Lakehead’s students and faculty have embraced their participation in our university’s research mission. Research in the social sciences and humanities builds understanding and, in the process, changes the way we think, how we live, and how we interact with each other and the world around us.  Congratulations to all the students, and to my faculty colleagues, whose excellent work is being recognized today.”

“Funding research projects and research training programs in social sciences and humanities fields will provide the much-needed resources for enhancing our research capacity and advancing our understanding of the complex and interrelated societal and economic challenges confronting our region and the nation,” explains Dr. Rui Wang, Vice-President (Research), Lakehead University.

Dr. Harvey Lemelin SSHRC ward recipient
Dr. Harvey Lemelin, received a SSHRC award for a project entitled "Photovoice and Photo-History: Visualizing Climate Change from the Mocreebec Perspective"
During a recent announcement by Dr. Chad Gaffield, President of SSHRC, in which SSHRC Standard Research Grants and graduate student awards were announced nationally, Dr. Gaffield stated that  “To understand innovation today is to understand human thought and behaviour—why we do the things we do, and why we strive to change or stay the same. The investments in these research projects will generate understanding of the political, social, cultural and economic issues that are vital to our future.”

The Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) is the federal agency that promotes and supports university-based research and training in the humanities and social sciences. Through its programs and policies, SSHRC enables the highest levels of research excellence in Canada, and facilitates knowledge-sharing and collaboration across research disciplines, universities and all sectors of society.

2010 SSHRC announcement at Lakehead University
Jennifer Newby, PhD student in Clinical Psychology, Dr. Lisa Korteweg (Education), Dr. Rui Wang, Vice-President (Research), Dr. Lori Chambers (Women's Studies), Dr. Jane Nicholas (History), Dr. Chris Southcott (Sociology), Dr. Martha Dowsley (ORPT), Dr. Todd Dufresne (Philosophy), Dr. Harvey Lemelin (ORPT), Dr. Michel Beaulieu (History), Dr. Gillian Siddall, Dean, Social Sciences and Humanities, President Brian Stevenson, and Dr. John O'Meara, Dean, Faculty of Education


MEDIA: For more information, please contact Heather Scott, Communications Officer, at 
807-343-8177 or, or Eleanor Abaya, Director of Communications, 
807-343-8372 or

About Lakehead
Lakehead is a comprehensive university with a reputation for innovative programs and cutting-edge research. With a main campus located in Thunder Bay, Ontario and a campus in Orillia, Ontario, Lakehead has over 7,700 students and 2,250 faculty and staff, and is home to the west campus of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine. In 2006, Research Infosource Inc. named Lakehead University Canada's Research University of the Year in the undergraduate category. For more information on Lakehead University, visit

Last updated October 21, 2010

News RSS Feed Stay Informed - Subscribe to our RSS Feed